• Thu. Apr 18th, 2024

The Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE) today announced the appointment of Asanga C. Seneviratne as a Director
of the CSE Board with effect from 23rd September 2021.

Seneviratne has previously served on the Board of the CSE as a Director during the period from 2013
to 2017. He was a Founder/Director of Asia Capital PLC, the largest Investment Bank to be listed on
the CSE in 1994. He was the Managing Director, Asia Securities (Pvt) Ltd., the No 1 ranked Stock Broking
Company in Sri Lanka from 1991-2008 and CEO of Asia Capital Ltd From 2003-2010. He was with Asia Securities and Asia Capital for 19 years and has extensive experience in Finance & Investments, Capital Management, and the hospitality industry.

Seneviratne pioneered on-line Trading in Sri Lanka through his company Investor Access Asia (Pvt) Ltd
with CDAX, the first on-line trading system in Sri Lanka, enabling direct access to the CSE from the clients’
personal computer. 30% of the total trades on the CSE were executed via this system during that period.
He was instrumental in restructuring Nation Lanka Finance PLC under the Central Bank program in 2011
to resurrect failed licensed Finance entities.

He is presently the Chairman of Nation Lanka Equities (Pvt) Ltd and the Managing Director of Asia Fort
Asset Management (Private) Limited, Anilana Hotels & Properties PLC and Investor Access Equities
(Private) Limited.

He has also served on the following Corporate Boards of Directors: Director of the CSE, Chairman of
NatWealth Securities, Director of Nation Lanka Finance PLC.

Following an illustrious sporting career in Cricket and Rugby at School and Club level, Asanga represented
Sri Lanka at both sports. He currently serves as Vice President of the National Olympic Committee of Sri
Lanka and is an Independent Committee Member and Chairman of Competitions and High-Performance

He has held the following posts in previous years: Chairman of the Stock Brokers’ Association of Sri Lanka
from 2005-2006, President of the Sri Lanka Rugby Foot Ball Union from 2012 – 2018, Secretary-General of
Asia Rugby from Vice President of Sri Lanka Cricket from 2013 to 2016

By Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *