• Wed. Jul 10th, 2024

The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce elected Vish Govindasamy as its Chairman during the Chamber’s 182nd Annual General Meeting on Tuesday (29). He succeeds Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya who completed his 2-Year Term as Chairman at the culmination of the Annual General Meeting.

Govindasamy serves in the capacity of Managing Director of Sunshine Holdings PLC, a diversified conglomerate listed in the Colombo Stock Exchange, Sri Lanka. Prior to this, he was the CEO of Watawala Plantations, where he was instrumental in turning the company around and leading it to become the highest capitalized regional plantation company in the Colombo Stock Exchange.

Duminda Hulangamuwa, Senior Partner and Head of Tax at Ernst & Young and Krishan Balendra, Chairman of John Keells Holdings PLC were appointed as Vice Chairperson and Deputy Vice Chairperson respectively.

Further to the office bearers above, Shiromal Cooray, Chairperson & Managing Director, Jetwing Travels and Chairperson, Jetwing Hotels, Asoka Pieris, Managing Director of Cargills Food Company Ltd and Director of Cargills (Ceylon) PLC and Manjula de Silva, Secretary General and CEO of The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce were re-elected to the Board of the Ceylon Chamber. 

Sarath Ganegoda –  Group Executive Director, Hayleys PLC, Mr. Amal Cabraal – Chairman, Lion Brewery Ceylon PLC and Chairman, Ceylon Beverage Holdings PLC and Bingumal Thewerathanthri – CEO, Standard Chartered Bank PLC were elected as three new members to the Board.

By Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *